< Back to Album Home 2016 VLN DMV 250 Meilen Rennen (Willem J. Staat)
Posted (10/12/2016) -

                                Historical Lexus Win at the Nordschleife


Photo and report Willem J. Staat


The Japanese Gazoo Team has been trying to beat the Nordschleife since 2009 and finally with partner Farnbacher Racing they succeeded with their brand  Lexus RC F “Next Generation” Protype which is being a testbed for the GT3-car with which they intend to race.  With brand new evolution car Mario and Dominik Farnbacher qualified 9th under wet and foggy conditions. For the penultimate round of the series BMW Schnitzer turned up with Junior men Jens Klingmann/Nico Menzel and Bruno Spengler for RMG Motorsport with a relatively M235i to learn the Nordschleife. Further Falken Motorsports had a brand new M3 chassis for Philipp Eng and Alexandre Imperatori whilst Nissan came with a Zakspeed GT-R Nismo. Also the brand new Reiter KTM X-Bows made their first appearance at the Nordschleife and immediately took the GT4 category. Due to the typical Eifel conditions many of the front runners already went in for slicks in the first lap. It meant that the leading Frikadelli Porsche 911 GT3 R spun coming out of the box whilst some of the leading cars bunched up in the Mercedes Arena. The Lexus took advantage and fought out fantastic battle with the ROWE BMW M6 GT3 from Alexander Sims/Stef Dusseldorp. All depended on fuel calculation. But when it started to drizzle slightly around the main straight they went for 2nd place.  Dominik Farnbacher: “The co-operation with Toyota Cologne and Lexus is perfect. This car is brand new. Much better to drive and with the precedessor we had to take a lot of risks. The new car is much more relaxed.” A perfect strategy and a faultless race brought them their first win. The ADAC GT Masters Champions Conor de Phillippi and Christopher Mies finished 3rd in the Montaplast by Land Motorsport Audi R8 LMS.

Most Recent Photo Albums
** 41st Antwerp Classic Car Salon 2018 (C) Willem J. Staat
** 2018 96th European Motor Show Brussels (Willem J. Staat)
** 2018 25th Interclassics Maastricht (Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 AmerIcan Dream Cars and Bikes at Brussels (C) Willem J. Staat
** 2017 50th Essen Motor Show (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 12th Professional Motor Sports Expo Cologne (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 Interclassics Brussels (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 VLN 42e ADAC Munsterlandpokal (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 DTM Final Hockenheim (Photo and report: Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 VLN 49th Barbarossa Preis Nürburgring (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 ADAC GT Masters Hockenheim (Willem J. Staat)