< Back to Album Home 2017 DTM Nürburgring (photos and report by Willem J. Staat)
Posted (09/11/2017) -

               Robert Wickens and Lucas Auer provide Mercedes two wins                                    Championship remains wide open


Photo and report Willem J. Staat

Austrian Lucas Auer won the first DTM race on Saturday under changeable weather conditions.  Auer took the lead from pole. It meant the fourth DTM win in his career and the third one this season. Behind him Mercedes drivers Paul di Resta and Robert Wickens took 2nd and 3rd. Lucas Auer: “This has been a mega race for us, after the pitstop I was a little puzzled but the pitstrategy worked perfectly” Audi-drivers René Rast and Jamie Green finished in fourth and fifth respectively.

Due to the changeable conditions a lot of people gambled on slicks and wets. The drivers who gambled on wets won the lottery. Others like Mattias Ekström and polesitter Agusto Farfus lost. They changed on slicks whilst the rain came in again, both had to pit twice and lost contact with the leading group. Ekström remained in the lead of the table-standings. Just in the moment as he came in for slicks rain started falling again and little communication according to the current rules did not help that much.

The second race on Sunday was being taken by Canadian Robert Wickens who appears to be in Indycar talks now. At first polesitter Marco Wittmann(BMW) and Paul di Resta battled for the lead. In the 15th lap Wittmann took the lead but he shortly enjoyed it as Robert Wickens took it three laps later. Wittmann did put Wickens under pressure but was not in a position to retake the lead. Wittmann: “No chance to beat the Mercedes today. Paul was extremely quick and I hoped to win the race but lost a grip at the front. So, it became impossible. Ekström, Auer, Rast and Wittmann are the first four in the table standings and the battle remains extremely close.

In F3 Briton Lando Norris took two wins on Saturday and Sunday and was a class apart in the rain. The second race was being take by Hi Tech driver Jake Hughes. The Porsche Cup Races were won by Briton Nick Yelloly and Dennis Olsen. The Audi TT Cup races went to Spaniard Mikel Azcona.

Most Recent Photo Albums
** 41st Antwerp Classic Car Salon 2018 (C) Willem J. Staat
** 2018 96th European Motor Show Brussels (Willem J. Staat)
** 2018 25th Interclassics Maastricht (Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 AmerIcan Dream Cars and Bikes at Brussels (C) Willem J. Staat
** 2017 50th Essen Motor Show (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 12th Professional Motor Sports Expo Cologne (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 Interclassics Brussels (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 VLN 42e ADAC Munsterlandpokal (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 DTM Final Hockenheim (Photo and report: Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 VLN 49th Barbarossa Preis Nürburgring (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 ADAC GT Masters Hockenheim (Willem J. Staat)