< Back to Album Home 2017 24 Hrs Nürburgring Photo and report Willem J. Staat
Posted (05/29/2017) -

 Americans in the spotlight and sensational end provides Conor de Phillippi win with Audi Sport Team Land

Photo and report Willem J. Staat

A few years ago car manufacturers like Audi,BMW and Mercedes probably laughed about the intentions of James Glickenhaus. But last Friday there was not too laugh for them as the Traum Motorsport SCG003 took pole position for the famous Eifel Marathon with Jeff Westphal at the wheel. Mr. Glickenhaus, who is an enormous fan of the Nordschleife, could hand his own Pole Trophy to his driver. “Remember, you get it only for one year!” James told his driver. In the opening hours the car led a lot of laps but then dropped back and finally retired after a crash Sunday morning. But Glickenhaus  has clearly given a statement to other manufacturers who spent millions on this race nowadays……

In a sensational end the Audi Sport Team Land Audi R8 LMS won the race. It led for more than 20 years, but 90 minutes before the end a sensor had to be reset or replaced. That did cost the combination Winkel/De Phillippi/Mies/Van der Linde the lead and they dropped back to third, with the WRT Audi R8 LMS and ROWE BMW M6 from Müller/Fässler/Frijns/Rast and Paltalla/Catsburg/Sims Westbrook now leading the race. For the final stop the Audi Sport Team Land car came in with just 30 minutes to go but whilst refuelling the team made a costly mistake and the car had to be pushed back. At that moment the TV screens showed a lot of rain around the Nordschleife. And the crew decided to mount rain tyres. For them it was exactly the right moment and when the Audi went out it got the lead whilst the WRT Audi and ROWE BMW had to come in as well.”

Winner Conor De Phillippi: “Now I completely understand what the Green Hell means” Kelvin van der Linde got the commando to push and did what he had to do. Teamowner Wolfgang Land: “When the flag drops to BS stops” Just like last year an incredible finish for one of Europe’s greatest motorsport events which attracted over 205.000 paying spectators…………

Both WTCC races were being taken by the works Volvo’s from Ted Björk and Nick Catsburg.

Most Recent Photo Albums
** 41st Antwerp Classic Car Salon 2018 (C) Willem J. Staat
** 2018 96th European Motor Show Brussels (Willem J. Staat)
** 2018 25th Interclassics Maastricht (Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 AmerIcan Dream Cars and Bikes at Brussels (C) Willem J. Staat
** 2017 50th Essen Motor Show (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 12th Professional Motor Sports Expo Cologne (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 Interclassics Brussels (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 VLN 42e ADAC Munsterlandpokal (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 DTM Final Hockenheim (Photo and report: Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 VLN 49th Barbarossa Preis Nürburgring (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 ADAC GT Masters Hockenheim (Willem J. Staat)