< Back to Album Home 2016 ADAC GT Masters F3 Masters Zandvoort (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)Photo and report Willem J. Staat
Posted (08/23/2016) -

Swede Eriksson new F3 Masters GT Masters wins for Estre/Jahn and Geipel Frey

Photo and report Willem J. Staat

Swede Joel Eriksson won the 26th Edition from the F3 Masters at Zandvoort. He won the qualification race and also the main race. Eriksson immediately took the lead for the 26th Masters edition and was never threatened again. His teammate Niko Kari tried to put some pressure on Eriksson who then immediately responded by increasing the gap. For the German Motopark team it became a great success by having all their three drivers on the rostrum with Chinese Zhou going for a pitstop in the final stages for fresh tyres thereby setting the fastest lap in the penultimate one as well with 1. 31.709. Colton Herta finished 11th at his first appearance for the Carlin Motorsports Team.

In the ADAC GT Masters Conor de Phillippi took pole for the first race but the Team 75 Bernhard Porsche from Kevin Estre/David Jahn took their third win of the season in a race where pit strategy played an important role. Mies and De Phillippi finished second and the Herberth Porsche from Ragginger/Renauer third. A technical failure meant a blow for the Zakspeed combination Asch/Ludwig to repeat last year’s title in Mercedes GT3.

Due to changeable weather conditions the second race really became a thriller with the Yacco Audi R8 LMS from Swiss Lady Rahel Frey and German Phillipp Geipel starting from 17th and sensationally winning the race ahead of the HB Racing WDS Lamborghini from Siedler/Van Lagen. The Zakspeed combination Asch/Ludwig finished 3rd and only have a slight theoratical chance of repeating last year’s championship. With a fourth place American De Phillippi is now leading the Championship together with Christopher Mies. The Callaway Corvette from Daniel Keilwitz/Jules Gounon is second in the table standings The difference is two points only. Either an American driver or an American car will win this prestigious title at Hockenheim at the final September weekend.

The ADAC F4 races were being won by Australian Joey Mawson, Mike David Ortmann and Canadian Kami Laliberté. The third race ran for three laps only due to multiple crashes and parking incidents. Antti Burri won a quite spectacular TCR Shoot Out on Saturday and the second race which took place under wet circumstances went to Austrian Harald Proczyk. Both with Seat.


Most Recent Photo Albums
** 2017 ADAC GT Masters Testing Oschersleben
** 2017 VLN 42th DMV 4 Std. Rennen (photos and report by Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 29th Techno Classica Essen The Golden Fifties
** 2017 VLN 63rd ADAC Westfalenfahrt Nürburgring (Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 VLN Test und Einstelltag (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** LMS Presentation (Willem J. Staat)
** 100 Year of BMW (C) Willem J. Staat
** 49th Essen Motor Show (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2016 2nd Interclassics Brussels (Willem J. Staat)
** 2016 10th Professional Motorsports Expo Cologne - Willem J. Staat
** 2016 VLN 41th Münsterlandrennen (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)