< Back to Album Home 2016 ADAC GT Masters Oschersleben (Willem J. Staat)
Posted (04/26/2016) -

      Wins for Zakspeed and GRT Racing in ADAC GT Masters

Photo and report Willem J. Staat

The first weekend of the ADAC GT Masters opened this weekend with over 30 entries for the popular GT series. The ABT entered Bentley GT3 Continental from Guy Smith/Fabian Hamprecht took the lead in the first race, it was not rewarded with a good result due to speeding into the pitlane. Thereafter the reigning champions Luca Ludwig/Sebastian Asch went on to win their first race of the season with the brand new Zakspeed Mercedes AMG GT3 which looked strong all weekend long. The Land Motorsport Audi R8’s from Conor de Philippi/Christopher Mies and Marc Basseng/Peter Hoevenaars finished in second third postion. De Philippi/Mies repeated that in R2 as well. R2 started with the Callaway Corvette C7R GT3 from Daniel Keilwitz crashing out at first bend already. The race had to be red flagged to clear the carnage. Thereafter the Zakspeed Mercedes led nearly for the entire distance but fell victim of a safetycar situation when Ludwig went too early on throttle. The leading car therefore had been awarded a 30 secs. penalty and dropped down the field. Therefore a suprising win went to the GRT Lamborghini Huracan GT3 from Christian Engelhart/Rolf Ineichen. Stoll/Vanthoor with an Audi R8 Ultra finished in 3rd postion. The Formula 4 races were being taken by Australian VAR driver Joey Mawson and Mick Schumacher. The brand new TCR Touring car races went to Brtion Josh Files with a Target Competition Seat Leon Cup Racer.

Most Recent Photo Albums
** 41st Antwerp Classic Car Salon 2018 (C) Willem J. Staat
** 2018 96th European Motor Show Brussels (Willem J. Staat)
** 2018 25th Interclassics Maastricht (Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 AmerIcan Dream Cars and Bikes at Brussels (C) Willem J. Staat
** 2017 50th Essen Motor Show (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 12th Professional Motor Sports Expo Cologne (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 Interclassics Brussels (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 VLN 42e ADAC Munsterlandpokal (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 DTM Final Hockenheim (Photo and report: Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 VLN 49th Barbarossa Preis Nürburgring (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 ADAC GT Masters Hockenheim (Willem J. Staat)