< Back to Album Home 2016 Interclassics Maastricht (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
Posted (01/16/2016) -

100 Years of BMW


Photo and report Willem J. Staat

BMW celebrates it’s 100th anniversary this year. At the Brussels Motor Show they announced that there will be several activities during 2016. The Interclassics at Maastricht/NL opened in style with celebrating their birthday but unfortunately had little support from the manufacturer itself. A pity that some beauties from BMW Motorsport Classic failed. But on the other hand there was a beautiful Benetton B186 F1 car from Gerhard Berger, the ETCC Alpina BMW 3.5 CSL from 1978 in which touringcar legends Dieter Quester and Toine Hezemans raced, and also a completely restored BMW 320 Group 5 in with which Hans J. Stuck and Harald Grohs raced. Built in 1977. Heavily crashed but it now races in the hands of Franz Obermaier in Historic Racing. Anyway a good compensation for the Classics which failed. Another beauty was the Abarth Spyder in which rallyelegend Sandro Munari took part in the Targa Florio more than 45 years ago. Though it could have been a little bit better. Maastricht is always a quality show. Last year they expanded to Belgium for the first time. This year they will return in November with “The Legends of Spa Francorchamps” This promises.

Most Recent Photo Albums
** 41st Antwerp Classic Car Salon 2018 (C) Willem J. Staat
** 2018 96th European Motor Show Brussels (Willem J. Staat)
** 2018 25th Interclassics Maastricht (Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 AmerIcan Dream Cars and Bikes at Brussels (C) Willem J. Staat
** 2017 50th Essen Motor Show (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 12th Professional Motor Sports Expo Cologne (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 Interclassics Brussels (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 VLN 42e ADAC Munsterlandpokal (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 DTM Final Hockenheim (Photo and report: Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 VLN 49th Barbarossa Preis Nürburgring (Photo and report Willem J. Staat)
** 2017 ADAC GT Masters Hockenheim (Willem J. Staat)