Sebring - Action Express wins the 63rd Mobil 1 12 Hours of Sebring
Page: 1 Links
Sebring - Action Express wins the 63rd Mobil 1 12 Hours of Sebring

Qualifying on the pole for 63rd Mobil 1 12 Hours of Sebring was one of the two new Ligier JS PS. Unlike Daytona where the Shank entry qualified fastest it would be the Krohn Judd powered model starting on the pole. The Krohn car was qualified by Olivier Pla - he would share driving duties with Nic Jonsson and team owner Tracy Krohn. Pla started the car and led until the first round of pit stops. Krohn took over driving duties and when exiting the pits made contact with the Bar1 Motorsports Oreca FLM09. After the stop the car continued to lose ground with exhaust issues. The team would finish sixth in the Prototype class and eighth overall.

Ryan Dalziel driving the Honda HPD APX-03b with Scott Sharp and David Heinemeier-Hanson would lead overall at the end of the first hour. However, No. 1 Tequila Patron ESM HPD ARX-03b would lose two laps with Sharp at the wheel when the car suffered gearshift issues. The team would eventually retire - classified ninth in class and thirty-sixth overall.

At the 3-hour mark it was Action Express Racing's Sebastien Bourdais in the lead. He shared this car with Joao Barbosa and Christian Fittipaldi. Bourdais extended his lead in the No. 5 Corvette DP following the second full-course caution. However, this advantage was eliminated following another caution, for the DeltaWing which stopped on track with suspension damage.

At the one-third mark the Racing Corvette DP, with Mike Rockenfeller at the wheel, assumed the lead. The next to contend for the lead was Scott Dixon in the Chip Ganassi Racing Riley-Ford followed by Joao Barbosa in the Action Express Racing Corvette DP.

At the start of the eighth hour, the Action Express reassumed the lead from the Chip Ganassi Racing Riley-Ford when Joao Barbosa passed Dixon into turn-17 on lap-191. Barbosa pitted and handed over to Bourdais, 4-laps after Dixon stopped and turned the Ganassi car over to Scott Pruett.

At this point the Racing Corvette DP of Michael Valiante was in third followed by the Wayne Taylor Racing Corvette DP. The Taylor entry endured brake issues the entire event - to rectify the problem several solutions were attempted.

For the last 149-laps the Action Express car was in control with the team finishing 1-lap ahead of the Taylor Corvette DP driven by Max Angelelli and Ricky and Jordan Taylor. Third were the Racing Corvette DP of Richard Westbrook, Valiante and Rockenfeller.