Sebring - Corvette makes it two in a row for 2015
Page: 1 Links
Sebring - Corvette makes it two in a row for 2015

After poor showing at Daytona Porsche came better prepared for Sebring. The two factory cars were fastest in GT Le Mans qualifying. Starting on the class pole was the Porsche 911 RSR of Jorg Bergmeister, Earl Bamber, Frederic Makowiecki and Nick Tandy. The second entry was driven by Nick Tandy, Patrick Pilet, Richard Lietz and Earl Bamber. Starting third were Daytona winners Jan Magnussen, Antonio Garcia and Ryan Briscoe in a Chevrolet Corvette C7.R.

GT Le Mans polesitter, Fred Makowiecki, led most of the opening hour in the Porsche 911 RSR trailed by the Corvette of Antonio Garcia. Into the third hour the battle continued between the Porsche and Corvette teams which were also joined by the Team RLL BMW Z4 GTE.

As the race wore on the lead changed depending on pit cycles but generally it was between the two factory Porsches and the Magnussen/Garcia/Briscoe Corvette. Heading into the final hours of the event the two Porsches had the upper hand running first and second in the GT Le Mans class - looking set for the win.

But it was not to be as disaster struck the Porsche squad. First the car driven by Fred Makowiecki fell several laps off the pace during the last pit stop when the air jack failed which was followed by a problem removing the wheel nuts on the left rear tire. The car dropped to seventh in class. However, the team car was poised to take the win when Nick Tandy was slowed by shifting problems.

Garcia in the Corvette took over the lead from Tandy. The Corvette would maintain the lead taking the class win after 12-hours of competition. With Tandy fading the Risi Competizione Ferrari F458 Italia driven by Giancarlo Fisichella, Pierre Kaffer and Andrea Bertolini was able to move into second. The trio of Patrick Long, Wolf Henzler and Bryan Sellers in Falken Tire sponsored Porsche would finish in the third spot.

The next stop for the Tudor United SportsCar Championship will be at Long Beach on Saturday, April 18.