Shoot-Out for the GTLM win - Corvette vs. BMW
Page: 1 Links
Shoot-Out for the GTLM win - Corvette vs. BMW
Fastest qualifier in the GTLM class was the No. 4 Corvette Racing Corvette C7.R entry of Tommy Milner, Oliver Gavin and Simon Pagenaud. Gavin qualified the car and was quick to praise fellow Corvette driver Jan Magnussen for giving him a tow that secured the GTLM pole. For much of the race the pole-sitting car ran with the lead group in the GTLM class. However, with 3-hours remaining the team lost 4-laps after making contact with the No. 66 RG Racing Riley Prototype. Quick repairs allowed them to finish third in class.

The No. 4 Corvette was not the only contender to encounter problems. Defending race winners Porsche North America were involved in a multi-car incident that took both of its Porsche 911 RSRS out of contention in the 11th hour of the race. The No. 911 driven by Nick Tandy, Patrick Pilet, Marc Lieb and Michael Christensen recovered to finish fifth in GTLM while the team car driven by Jorg Bermeister, Earl Bamber, Frederic Makowiecki and Michael Christensen retired after 581-laps. After multiple pit-stops the very quick No. 62 Risi Competizone Ferrari F458 Italia retired - completing only 310-laps. The Falken Tire Porsche 911 RSRS was running in the top three with approximately 6-hours to go when they had a drive-train issue - this left them with an eighth place finish in GTLM.

In the final hours the No. 3 Corvette piloted by Magnussen, Ryan Briscoe and Antonio Garcia held a comfortable lead over the No. 25 Team RLL BMW Z4 GTE shared by Dirk Werner, Bill Auberlen, Augusto Farfus and Bruno Spengler. With 20-minutes remaining the class leading Prototype Challenge (PC) driven by Colin Braun made contact with the wall coming out of the chicane on the backstretch. This resulted in a full-course caution period and bunched the field for GTLM shoot-out. In the end the Corvette C7.R beat the Z4 GTE by a mere 0.478 seconds. This was Corvette Racing's first class victory at the Rolex 24 since 2001.

The next stop for the Tudor United SportsCar Championship will be at Sebring International Raceway on Saturday, March 21.