Rrdc Elects 29 New members For 2011
Page: 1  2   3   4   5   6   7  Links


HILLIARD, Ohio (Aug. 22, 2011) - The Road Racing Drivers Club has elected 29 new members for 2011, swelling its rolls to 380 significant racing drivers and contributors to the sport. The organization will celebrate its 60th anniversary in 2012.

Twenty racing drivers whose resumes include championships in karting, FIA GT2, SCCA Nationals, Indy Lights, European rallying, USAC National Sprint Car, British Formula Renault, and numerous major event victories around the world, were voted in as Regular members.

Five notable supporters of the sport, with stellar backgrounds as drivers, team owners and/or officials, were elected to Associate membership, while four Honorary members from the organizational and medical ranks accepted invitations to join the exclusive club founded in 1952.

"We at the RRDC are proud to welcome this truly outstanding group of drivers and supporters from virtually every form of racing on the globe," said RRDC president Bobby Rahal. "The caliber of these men and women and their contributions to the sport are a true reflection of what the RRDC represents.

"Membership in the RRDC is one of the highest honors one can receive, and with it comes something even better: the opportunity to give back to the sport. The RRDC is deeply involved in the development and support of young drivers, and we look forward to our new members' active participation."

Regular Members voted in for 2011:

Joao Barbosa - Daytona Beach, Fla. - A native of Portugal, began racing karts at age 11, winning the '88 Portuguese Junior Kart championship, following that with Formula A and Super A titles. Has championships in Portuguese Formula Ford and Italian Formula Europa Boxer. Was second in the '96 Italian Formula 3 championship winning Rookie of the Year and is '97 Formula Atlantic Rising Star. Has raced at Le Mans, in ALMS and Grand-Am, winning class at '10 Daytona 24.

Justin Bell - Los Angeles, Calif. - SCCA Trans-Am Rookie of the Year in '01, has competed in Barber Saab, British club championships, Asia Pacific Touring Car Championship, Indy Lights, Le Mans, FIA GT2 and Grand-Am. GT2 Le Mans winner in '98, second in '99, and second o/a in Corvette in '00 Daytona 24. Also third o/a (second in class) at '95 Le Mans.

Allen Berg - Calgary, Alberta, Can. - Won '82 Tasman Series, then moved to

  Next Page >>