Scca Pro Playboy Mazda mx-5 cup At mazda raceway
Page: 1  2   3   4  Links
Event/Circuit: Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca 11-turn, 2.238-mile road course

Qualifying: Saturday, May 22, at 8:00 a.m. (PDT)

Green Flag: Sunday, May 23, at 3:15 p.m. (PDT)

Race Length: 45-minute timed race. Television: Will be aired on cable syndication. Check or for a complete broadcast schedule. Media Notes: Results are available on the AP SportsWire, via e-mail and on the Internet at .

Timing/Scoring: Live Timing & Scoring and lap notes via the SCCA® Pit Board are available for all sessions through .

Track Records: Qualifying Lap: 1:41.184 (79.625 mph), Eric Foss, 2008 Race Lap: 1:41.731 (79.625 mph), Christian Franck, 2008 Average Speed: 77.751 mph, Jason Saini, 2007 Margin of Victory: 0.107-second, Chip Herr over Todd Buras, 2006

Previous Winners: 2009: Todd Lamb 2008: Christian Franck 2007: Jason Saini 2006: Chip Herr

Story Leads

Welcome to the SCCA Pro Racing Playboy Mazda MX-5 Cup at Mazda Raceway The SCCA Pro Racing Playboy Mazda MX-5 Cup returns to action this weekend at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, the only facility to host a round of the championship every season since its inception in 2006.

It's a "home" event for Mazda, and three drivers who are part of the MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development Ladder would enjoy nothing more than a win to represent the manufacturer.

One of those drivers, championship points leader Brad Rampelberg, has additional motivation in the No. 4 AMG Racing/Mazda/Cobalt Brakes Mazda MX-5. The San Jose, Calif.-racer is running at his home track, in front of family and friends, and with a scant 16 point lead after two of 11 rounds. Rampelberg won the Mazda shootout to earn a paid MX-5 Cup ride in 2008, and is back full-time in 2010 to battle for the title.

Last year's shootout recipient, Justin Piscitell, sits second in the championship after a pair of fourth place finishes to open the season. The 20-year-old, driving the No. 89 Team MER DAMG Worldwide Mazda MX-5, finished as the championship runner-up a year ago in his season as the shootout winner.

This year's prize winner, Nick Evans, is driving the No. 28 Team MER/Mazda/Sparco MX-5 as a teammate to Piscitell. The young open-wheel driver is behind the wheel of a sports car for a season for the first time and is adapting nicely, finishing fifth and seventh in the first two rounds.

  Next Page >>